Show History

The Calgary Rock and Lapidary Club formed on February 13, 1959 and our first Annual CRLC Gem, Mineral and Fossil Show was held that year. Over the years, it has been an opportunity to show off our club creations and attract new interest in our club. The proceeds from our show support the operation of our club and our workshop.

Locations History:
1959: Allied Arts Centre
1961: Canadian Western Natural Gas Auditorium
1962 to 1972: Jubilee Auditorium basement
1973 to 1976: Kinsmen Centre, Stampede
1977: Mount Royal College
1978 to 1980: Convention Centre
1981: Max Bell Arena
1982 to 2012: West Hillhurst Community Centre
2013 to present: Vivo for Healthy Generations

1966show

1966 Show – Gordon Agar demonstrating faceting for a visitor.  Looking on, l. to r. club members  Norma  Hofforth, Peter Hofforth, and John Collins.

 

 

 

Husky Tower 1969

1969 Show – opened officially by lovely Miss Vivian Ayoungman, Canadian Indian Princess and Alberta Princess.  She is shown here with the gemstone Husky Tower (now Calgary Tower) made by a group of Club members and presented to the Husky Tower (now Calgary Tower).